Stitch Fix Review: My First Ever Stitch Fix

I don’t think it is a secret to any of my readers that I am quite the fashion connoisseur.  But, with that being said, I am also extremely picky.  I know what I like and always have low expectations and high hopes for online shopping orders and mall trips.  Since transitioning out of college two years ago, I have really been trying to adopt a more “adult” version of my fashion sense.  I like items that are transitional, meaning I can wear them to work, out on a date with M, or even a night on the town with my girls.  A good blend of functional, transitional yet still trendy is what I’m looking for.  So, I turned to Stitch Fix after months and months of debating whether or not I should do it.  

STITCH FIX 1

Here are some things I really liked about Stitch Fix:

1) You get to create a profile with more information about you: your sizes, style, how you like things to fit, things you like/don’t like, what kinds of pieces you want (things for work, special occasions, etc), price points for different items, etc.  My favorite part was being able to add my Pinterest Board and write in comments.  

2) It is hassle-free.  The return and purchasing process was so easy!

3) It gives you ideas on how to style the items included in your Fix. This is great because sometimes we all want to branch out a little and try something new, but aren’t sure what to pair with that item.  It gave me great ideas on what I could do with the items in my Fix.

Things I didn’t like about Stitch Fix and my first Fix in general:

1) Nothing fit me quite right.  I think this partially has to do with my size.  I am 5’0″ and have a small upper body but slightly curvier lower half (think Kourtney Kardashian-ish, minus the chest.)  Overall, items were all too big for me.  I have modified my sizes on the Style Profile since then, so I am hoping this improves next time.

2) I didn’t feel like my Pinterest board was really taken into consideration.  When I first saw this component on the Style Profile I got really excited because I love adding new looks and outfit inspirations to my Fashionista Board on Pinterest.  But, I was a little disappointed in what felt like a lack of personalization.

3) Overall the items seemed to be priced a little too high.  Nothing major, but some items seemed to be priced higher than the same item I found elsewhere online when I googled the items.  However, I did this AFTER I sent my Fix back, so I didn’t get to comment on that with my feedback.

 

Ok, so want to see what items I received, what I thought of them and what I kept/sent back? 

Stitch Fix Item Review Stitch Fix Item Review

Item 1: Vinny Ankle Length Colored Skinny Jean (Sent Back)

Review of Item 1 – I cannot believe that my stylist, Taylor found jeans that fit me.  I would have kept them in a heartbeat if they weren’t green.  I had no clue what I would wear with them, despite the suggestions on the cards within my Fix.  I couldn’t get over the thought of St. Patrick’s Day.  They definitely would have worked in a different color or in regular denim.

Item 2: Coco Swiss Dot Lattice Detail Blouse (KEEPER)

Review of Item 2 – There are a few little, minor things I would slightly change about the cut of this shirt for where it hits on my frame, but otherwise I really liked it.  It’s versatile for the weekend, summer inspired yet can be dressed up for work or going out.  I thought this was a good addition to my wardrobe.

Stitch Fix Item 3 Review

Item 3: Charlize Colorblocked Sleeveless Blouse (Sent Back)

Review of Item 3 – The item was just too big and didn’t accentuate my figure at all.  I liked the price point of this item but it felt a little too billowy for my figure.

Stitch Fix Item 4 Review Stitch Fix Item 4 Review

Item 4: Clementine Lace Detail Chiffon Dress (Sent Back)

Item 4 Review – I really wanted to like this dress when I saw it in my Fix!  The color looked amazing on my skin tone and the cut of the dress, in theory, would have worked really well with my figure.  However, even though it fit my waist well, I was swimming in fabric on top and it was a little long.  It didn’t seem worth the trouble and extra cost of alterations.  It felt very Mad Men-esque!

Stitch Fix Item 5 Review Stitch Fix Item 5 Review

 Item 5: Sheila Bead Collar Detail Dress (Sent Back)

Item 5 Review – The dress was too long and the red fabric of the dress felt like kids clothing fabric.  I really liked the sheer neckline with the embellishment, but the beading didn’t seem very secure and I was worried it wouldn’t hold up.  I liked the overall shape of the dress, but it just didn’t work out.  

 

Overall, I wasn’t extremely satisfied with my Fix to the point of giving the service rave reviews, but I am willing to try it again with the hope that my feedback from my first Fix is addressed.  

 

Have you guys tried Stitch Fix?  If so, what did you think?

2 thoughts on “Stitch Fix Review: My First Ever Stitch Fix

  1. I’ve found it takes about 2-3 fixes for your stylist to really get it right, as long as you leave super-detailed feedback (I don’t wear jersey, I like open-front cardigans, the beading on this looked cheap, etc.) Hope you love your next one!

    • That’s great feedback, thank you! I plan on doing another one after Labor Day so I will probably post about that one, as well. Thanks for the feedback!

Leave a Reply

