Simple Summertime Corn Salsa

I hope everyone had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend and got out there to enjoy the weather, if you got surprisingly good weather like we did here in Michigan.  My weekend was great! I celebrated with some of my closest girlfriends at my friend’s wedding shower/bachelorette party on Saturday.

The shower was absolutely ADORABLE and nautical themed.  Her two older sisters planned every detail perfectly and we had such a great time.

MacPhee Wedding Shower

MacPhee shower

For the bachelorette portion of the night, we went to dinner in Ann Arbor at Gratzi, did a wine and painting party at The Paint Station where we painted the lighthouse in Charlevoix (where they are going for their Mini-Moon after the wedding), then went to Aventura for some drinks and fun.

The Paint Station Charlevoix Light House

Charlevoix lighthouse painting done at The Paint Station

Erika and I at The Paint Station

My bestie and I at The Paint Station

It was a full day of celebrating which wore me out a little for Sunday, so I laid out while M studied for boards.  Then we went to visit our friend that just graduated from nursing school in Maine.  Overall it was a great weekend!

Once I got back to Grand Rapids on Monday morning all I wanted to do was sleep, but it was so incredibly nice out that I decided sleeping in the sun by the pool seemed like the perfect alternative.

After a weekend like this, all I want is to eat whatever is quick and convenient, but I was craving something light and refreshing.  I headed to the store to do my grocery shopping for the week and when I got home I realized I had the perfect ingredients to whip up some grilled chicken and a corn “salsa” salad.

It was just what I was craving and goes great as a salad topper, veggie topper (think green beans or asparagus) or even to eat as a snack with some pretzel thins, pita chips or tortilla chips.  As an added bonus, it’s Tone It Up approved and fits perfect with the Bikini Series goals I’m working toward.

Simple Summer Corn Salsa

Ingredients:

4 cups of frozen corn, cooked

1 red pepper, diced

1 cup of diced cherry tomatoes

1 avocado, sliced

1/4 cup lemon or lime juice (I used both, mixed)

1 tablespoon sriracha

1 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon cumin

sea salt and pepper, to taste

*cilantro and onion would be great to add in but I didn’t have any on hand

Simple Summer Corn Salsa Ingredients

Directions:

Cook corn, dice or measure other vegetables and ingredients, mix all together and refrigerate.

Simple Summery Corn Salsa Simple Summery Corn Salsa

Serve as a dip with tortilla chips, pita chips, or pretzel thins OR as a salad topper, veggie topper (think green beans and asparagus)!

Leave a Reply

