Crock Pot Steel Cut Oats Recipe

For awhile now I have been attempting to find a breakfast recipe that is easy to throw together and is portable.  I work from home part of the week and from the headquarter office a few days, so I like to find meal options that are easy to bring with me.  I have mastered the art of on-the-go lunches, but have been struggling to find a suitable breakfast option for when I’m a little “over” overnight oats.

That is when I discovered the idea of preparing steel cut oats in the crock pot. Genius! I could kiss whoever came up with this idea.  I followed some basic directions regarding crockpot temperature, liquid amount and cooking time but made the recipe my own by adding ingredients that appealed to me.

Crock Pot Steel Cut Oats

Ingredients:

1 cup steel cut oats

1 medium apple, chopped

1 cup dried cranberries

1/3 cup walnuts, chopped

4 cups water

1/2 cup almond milk

Crock Pot Steel Cut Oats

Crock Pot Steel Cut Oats mixture

Directions:

In your crock pot, combine all of the ingredients, mix and set to low heat.  Cover and let the mixture cook on low for eight hours.  Feel free to mix every few hours, if desired.

Remove from heat and stir.  I have found that this saves in the fridge great for a week.

Crock Pot Steel Cut Oats

Crock pot steel cut oats while on-the-go at work

Get creative and add the ingredients you like best! Some ideas include dried figs, slivered almonds and pears.  The possibilities go on and on.

 

Leave a Reply

