Making My Own Lemon Bar Birthday Dessert

Where I work, we are responsible for bringing in a treat for the office on our birthday.  I know this seems a little backwards, and I agree, but I do it anyways.  My birthday is tomorrow and since I work from home on Wednesdays, I decided to bring in my treat today instead of waiting until Thursday.

I scoured the internet looking for something easy, cheap and quick to make (my three favorite things) that wasn’t insanely calorie packed and had a “light” feel to it.  I found something and I can’t remember where after all of the hunting I did, that was similar but used orange marmalade and I figured why couldn’t I use lemon curd?!

Basically, as much as I love chocolate, I wasn’t craving a molten lava cake.  I think it’s the spring weather we are finally starting to have in Michigan now that had me craving something fruity and summery, which is what lead me to this slim downed version of lemon bars.  These lemon bars are so simple to make and taste refreshing and light, but still dense and cake like.

Birthday Bars

Makes one 13 x 9 pan

Ingredients:

1 box of Angel Food cake

1 jar of lemon curd, warmed in microwave for 45 seconds

1/8 cup of water

vest of 1/2 lemon

powdered sugar, to top

Birthday Lemon Bars

Birthday lemon bar ingredients, lemon zest and water not pictured

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.

Mix box of angel food cake with jar of lemon curd, water and lemon zest.  Pour into a greased 13 x 9 baking pan.

Birthday lemon bars

Birthday lemon bars heading into the oven

Bake at 325 degrees for approximately 25 minutes.

birthday lemon bars

Finished birthday lemon bars before powdered sugar was added

Let cool completely then sprinkle with powdered sugar.

birthday lemon bars

About to nom on these lemon bars!!

 

Happy Birthday, fellow April babies!

 

3 thoughts on “Making My Own Lemon Bar Birthday Dessert

  1. Pingback: Healthified Fourth of July Boat Snacks | The Fit Eat

Leave a Reply

