Healthified No Bake Cookies

Apparently I am on a healthy dessert kick lately since I’m posting this right after my Raw Nut Butter Cups recipe I posted last week. But, who doesn’t love sweets?!

Yesterday I realized fairly last minute before I headed to the gym that I needed to bring something to the bible study I am a part of.  Whoops, it completely slipped my mind.  I was brainstorming what ingredients I had (not very many options…) that would create something tasty and quick to make.  I immediately thought of no bake cookies.  I always have oats, cocoa powder and almond/peanut butter on hand and knew I could work with that to attempt to make a healthier version.  No butter, no vegetable/canola oil, etc.  The version I made is vegan and can be made gluten free by using gluten free oats.

Healthified No Bake Cookies

Ingredients:

1/2 cup agave nectar (if you don’t need them to be vegan then you can use honey or maple syrup)

1/3 cup cocoa powder

1/4 cup almond milk (or milk of choice if you’re not making them vegan)

1/4 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup almond or peanut butter

2 cups oats (if you want the recipe to be gluten free, just use gluten free oats)

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

dash of salt (~1/8 teaspoon)

cacao nibs or mini dark chocolate chips to garnish, if desired

Directions:

Using a medium saucepan, mix your agave nectar and coconut powder together by heating the mixture on medium heat and stirring.  Add in almond milk (or milk of choice) and coconut oil.  Bring to a boil, stir and continue to boil while stirring for about a minute.

Healthified No Bake Cookies

Remove your saucepan from the heat and add almond butter, vanilla extract, dash of salt and oats.  Make sure the mixture is well combined before moving on.

Healthified No Bake Cookies

Drop cookie dough (about 1.5-2 tablespoons per cookie) on wax paper or lined baking sheet and mold into the shape you want.  If desired, add a few cacao nibs or mini dark chocolate chips to the top.

Healthified No Bake CookiesHealthified No Bake Cookies

Put your cookies in the fridge for about 2 hours before eating.

This recipe yields 12-16 cookies, depending on the size you make them.  Cookies will keep well in the refrigerator when sealed in an airtight container.

Enjoy! Let me know how you like them.  They were a big hit at my small group last night.

Leave a Reply

