Simple Sangria and BEER Dip Recipes

As promised from my post earlier this week, I am going to be sharing recipes for what I brought to the Super Bowl party I attended on Sunday.  I have the say, the sangria was a hit but the Beer Cheese Dip had people raving.  Little did they know how easy it is!  Keep in mind, the dip recipe is certainly NOT healthy or Tone It Up approved, but it was definitely crowd approved and boyfriend approved.  Sometimes you take what you can get.

Simple Game Day Sangria:

*keep in mind that I made this for a group, so I quadrupled the original recipe (at least).

Ingredients:

4 bottles of red wine (I prefer Cabernet Sauvignon or Merlot, and buy cheap because you can’t tell)

24 oz of club soda

5 shots of brandy (I used the cheapest brandy my store had because you can’t tell)

1-2 tablespoons Stevia, depending on how sweet you like your drinks (optional, I don’t like sweet drinks so I just used a pinch)

2 oranges, sliced

2 Granny Smith apples, sliced

4 limes, sliced

4 lemons, sliced

Directions:

Pour red wine in very large container.  I use a large, plastic beverage dispenser with the spout and handle, which works really well.  Add brandy and stevia.  Stir until well combined.  Remove as many seeds as possible from the fruit and add to the mixture, squeezing a little while adding.  Stir the mixture again and put in the fridge overnight.  Before serving, add the club soda and stir again.

You can add any fruit that you’d like.  In the summer I have added strawberries, peaches and raspberries.  I have also made it without brandy and with white wine (Pinot Grigio works well) and with summery fruit and lemon-lime soda before and it worked well.  Get creative!

Beer Cheese Dip

Ingredients:

1/3 cup beer (I have used either Miller Lite or Bud Light and it has worked well)

2 8-oz packages of cream cheese, softened (I use one light, one regular)

2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese

1 packet of ranch dip or dressing mix (I used Hidden Valley Original Ranch dip packet)

Directions:

Mix cream cheese, cheddar cheese and ranch mix in medium bowl.  Slowly stir in beer until the mixture is at a good consistency. Refrigerate before serving for about three hours then stir and serve.  I garnished my dip with some chopped green onion and served it with vegetables and pretzels.

Happy Friday and enjoy these recipes!

Leave a Reply

