January Foodie Pen Pal Reveal

This was my first time participating in The Lean Green Bean’s Foodie Pen Pals and I really enjoyed putting my box together for my match.  I also love getting mail, so looking forward to this delivery was awesome.  Little did I know that the contents would be so perfect.  My match picked things that she loved and thought I would love, as well, and, boy, did I!  Here’s a snapshot into what was included in my box.

The theme of the basket was, essentially, all of her favorite items from places she had recently traveled to or lived.

January Foodie Penpal

January Foodie Pen PalI had all of the necessary items for tea time: tea, biscotti, organic apricot jam and “Spotted Dick” (British pudding) in candy bar form.  I cannot rave enough about the biscotti she made.  Oh, my.  I wish I had the recipe so I can recreate it!  She also added Kim, which is a Korean seaweed snack that I found out after some research is the same as Japanese Nori.

The Chai Spice Mate tea was phenomenal and I ended up buying a box of my own the same week because I loved it so much.  Absolutely perfect for winter and it went so well with the biscotti.

I was in a pinch and short on time the other evening, so I used the quinoa and brown rice mixture she sent as the base of a “Mexican” power bowl.  It was so simple to make (microwave for 90 seconds) and easy to add pizzazz to by simply adding any ingredients you wish.  I added some grilled chicken, black beans, onion, sriracha and 1/2 of an avocado. Yum!

January Foodie Pen Pal

But, my most favorite thing in the box was this mason jar chili kit she put together that housed all the ingredients for her chocolate beer chili recipe, plus the recipe, canned tomatoes and an onion!  So thoughtful and I am really excited to make this.  I wanted to make it sooner but my boyfriend, M, was at my house when I received the box and he is convinced he needs to be the taste tester for this recipe.  I will be sure to post the results of the recipe once M and I have made it and I get his tasting feedback.

Overall, my first experience with Foodie Pen Pal was great and it opened my eyes to some new, fun and interesting ingredients and items I will use in the future.  But, most importantly, it was a fun way to meet someone else who shares my philosophy toward food of everything in moderation.  My foodie penpal even said that I inspired her to start blogging again, so that was awesome to be a part of and I can’t wait to read it.

Have a great weekend!

One thought on “January Foodie Pen Pal Reveal

  1. Pingback: March Foodie Penpal Reveal | The Fit Eat

Leave a Reply

