Super Bowl Sunday Party Appetizers

Super Bowl Sunday is right around the corner and I have been brainstorming what boyfriend approved items I should make for the Super Bowl party that M is hosting.  I want there to be a good mix of things that the guys would eat and then some items their girls (and I) would enjoy.

Of course, all the brainstorming lead me to Pinterest where I searched and searched and searched for simple, diverse, fun crowd-pleasers to make for the big game.  

Here are some ideas I came up with so far:

Guacamole with Veggies and Black Bean Tortilla Chips

Ingredients:

4 ripe avocados

1 roma tomato, diced

1 red onion, minced

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 tbsp lime juice

sea salt and pepper, to taste

cayenne, to taste (i like it spicy so I go until I can see a light layer of red)

*keep in mind this is a double batch

Directions:

Cut avocados in half, remove the seeds and scoop the avocado out of the peel.  Add the avocado to a mixing bowl and, using a fork or a masher, roughly mash the avocado.  I like my guacamole slightly chunky rather than smooth, but the consistency is up to you.  Add the chopped onion, garlic, lime juice, sea salt, pepper and cayenne and mash it up a little more.  Cover with plastic wrap directly on top of the guacamole (leave no “breathing room”) or else the mixture will turn brown.  Right before serving, chop and add the roma tomato then add it to the guacamole and stir.

Turkey Chili Bar

chili bar

I saw this adorable idea on Pinterest to host a chili bar, picture above, and have all of the fixings for a bowl of chili as well as chili dogs.  The guys would love that!  But, to make it a little healthier I was thinking of making my Turkey Chili rather than going with ground beef.  An added bonus is that this is a crock pot recipe, so I don’t have to fuss over it to much.  I can just throw everything in the crockpot and enjoy the rest of the day before the celebration begins.  Then, when it gets closer to game time, I could just cook up some turkey/veggie dogs and get out all of the chili fixings: cheese, sour cream, tomato, jalapenos, etc. and put them in little serving bowls.

Healthy Taco Dip

healthy taco dipNow this is a Super Bowl crowd pleaser that even I can enjoy.  I would sub celery and carrot sticks for the dippers, but would still get tortilla chips for other guests to enjoy.  I am considering putting some black beans in this recipe, too.

Gridiron Punch!

Gridiron Punch

Most of the guys will be drinking beer, but I think this drink sounds too fun to pass up.

Warm Mexican Dip

warm mexican dip

So easy and the guys would love it.  I’m not a huge warm dip person, so this being unhealthy wouldn’t tempt me too much, especially since I plan on making things that are a little healthier I can enjoy.

What are you guys making for the big game this weekend?

Leave a Reply

