Surviving a Cold or the Flu Without Medicine

Uh-oh, guess who caught the flu bug that has been going around?  So sad, but it’s me.  I have been getting ill a lot less than say a few years ago when I didn’t pay as much attention to my diet and exercised less.  However, even the healthiest of people can’t escape cold and flu season every year.  It’s bound to catch up to us eventually.

Here is my guide to surviving the flu without pumping yourself full of medication.  Keep in mind, these suggestions are what works for ME, but all bodies are different.

Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate! Increasing your fluid intake will undoubtedly help you feel better, faster.  My favorite beverages when I’m sick: hot water with lemon, green smoothies or green juices, decaf green or chai tea with lemon and honey, natural cranberry juice and good ‘ol H2O.

Take a hot, steamy shower.  This creates, essentially, your own personal sauna and can really improve the opening of your passageways.  As an extra bonus, it can thin your sinus mucus.  For me, doing this in the morning, daily really improves how I feel first thing in the morning, which is usually when my symptoms are the worst.

Rest and Relaxation.  You heard me – REST.  I am my own worse enemy when I’m sick.  I hate being stagnant and find it really difficult to just listen to my body and allow myself to feel better.  But, I’ve learned over the past 6 months (when I was battling pleurisy) that allowing your body to rest and rejuvenate is the kindest thing you can do for yourself.  So, indulge in a little MTV or Bravo and take care of yourself. Getting plenty of rest will be the best thing you can do for yourself.

Soothe that sore throat.  Aside from drinking hot beverages, you may need more relief.  I find that a salt water gargle really helps my sore throat improve.  I mix a teaspoon of salt with 1 1/2 cups of warm water and gargle about 4-5 times a day.  It’s not an instant fix, but it does help after a day or two of gargling.

Having a cold or the flu can really suck the energy right out of you.  I sincerely hope that some of these at-home, natural suggestions help you as they do me.  Remember, the best thing you can do for yourself is to rest and hydrate.  This too shall pass!

What makes you feel better when you’re sick?

One thought on “Surviving a Cold or the Flu Without Medicine

Leave a Reply

