Snowed In Tuna & Chickpea Salad Recipe

Dealing with all this snow and the polar vortex (whatever that means…) has made me crave summer foods.  Maybe I’m just fantasizing about warm temperatures, summery cocktails and warm waves crashing over me.  Yep, that’s it.

So yesterday while I was snowed in getting ready to watch the Bachelor preview, I decided to create a quick, summer salad topper recipe that had a great amount of protein and flavor.  Can’t wait to devour the leftovers for lunch today.

Snowed In Tuna Chickpea Salad

Snowed In Tuna & Chickpea Salad Recipe

Ingredients:

1 can of tuna in water

1 can of organic chickpeas

1/2 carrot (can sub equivalent baby carrots)

1-1 1/2 tablespoons chopped red onion

1 stalk of celery, chopped

1 tbsp nonfat, plain Greek yogurt

1-2 teaspoons sriracha

1 teaspoon yellow mustard 

splash of lemon juice

black pepper

Directions:

Drain tuna and chickpeas.  Combine in medium sized bowl.  Add chopped carrot, celery and onion to the bowl and mix.  Stir in Greek yogurt, sriracha and yellow mustard until evenly coated.  Drizzle lemon juice over the mixture and top with black pepper, to taste.

Snowed In Tuna & Chickpea Salad

I served my tuna chickpea salad on a bed of mixed greens, which I would definitely recommend.  This combination would also be delicious between two pieces of Ezekiel bread as a sandwich or on its own, as well.

Snowed In Tuna & Chickpea Salad

Enjoy! And if you’re dealing with these cold temperatures and over-abundance of snow, I feel for you!

2 thoughts on “Snowed In Tuna & Chickpea Salad Recipe

  1. This looks exactly like something else I made during the polar vortex as well! Too funny! I had beans, canned salmon, fresh bell peppers, and the new siggi’s mango jalapeno greek yogurt from Whole Foods-same type of thing! Whenever I can clean out my pantry and eat without having to go to the store in -10 windchill (or rain, for that matter) it’s a win. Looking forward to reading more from you! Feel free to check out my blog any time, I write about living an organic lifestyle on a budget.

Leave a Reply

