My Go-To Healthy Snacks

‘Tis the season to plan ahead.  Fail to plan, plan to fail…right?  Something like that.  To me, it’s all about moderation this season.  No, I won’t pass on dessert every time I get offered, but I will follow my workout regimen and make healthy choices as often as I can without feeling deprived.  Sounds like a pretty successful holiday season to me.

How do you stay on track during the holidays?

My plan for staying healthy and happy during the holidays is planning ahead and having my favorite go-to snacks on hand as I travel to my family’s houses celebrating as I go.

Veggies and Hummus

This is probably my most favorite snack.  I change up what vegetables I bring, but some of my favorites are: red peppers, carrots, celery and cucumber.  I buy Basha brand hummus in original.  It’s perfect for on-the-go travel days or even when you’re at work.

Shake & Take Almonds

Shake-and-Take-Cocoa-Nuts

Sooo delicious and whenever I bring a little bag with me to work it always takes me back to those roasted almonds they sell in the mall or at fairs.  Yum, but this is WAY better for us.  I substitute cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice for cocoa powder sometimes and it’s really tasty.  Just depends on if you’re having a chocolate craving or just a sweet tooth.

Grown Up Ants on a Log

Grown up ants on a log

I’m a kid at heart, aren’t you?  I’ve never been a big fan of nuts, and you guys all just heard about how much I love veggies and hummus.  One time I decided to experiment with this “grown up” version of ants on a log and ever since it has become a favorite snack. It’s just celery sticks, hummus and black beans!  If you’re feeling extra adventurous, add a little dash of cayenne pepper or some salsa to the top.

Green Smoothie

green smoothie

One of the best snacks which always give me a little spurt of energy mid-day and gets me ready for my evening workout is a green smoothie.  My go-to green smoothie has unsweetened almond milk, 1/2 frozen banana, and two handfuls of spinach of kale.  Sometimes for an extra boost, I’ll add a scoop of vanilla protein powder, I use Sunwarrior or Perfect Fit.

Avocado Sunflower Seed “Cup”

avocado sunflower seed cup

This is taken straight from the TIU Nutrition Plan.  There are so many amazing ideas in the plan that I still have not even come close to trying them all.  But, I tried this one day and FELL IN LOVE, no exaggeration.  It’s delicious and kept me full through my workout.  Here’s how you make this tasty treat: take 1/2 of avocado, pit removed and fill with 1/2 tablespoon of sunflower seeds and top with a drizzle of honey.  Simple, right?  Give it a try!

Larabars or Luna Bars

Luna Bar

Probably about once a week I grab a Larabar or Luna Bar as a snack mid-afternoon within 2.5 hours of my workout.  There are tons of great flavors so I never get bored of the same kind and they’re quick yet still really satisfying.  So good!

Plan ahead and you’ll succeed, guys!

 

What are some of your favorite snacks?  

Leave a Reply

