The Thankful Project: Day 24 and 25

Life kind of got away from me yesterday, so I’ll be posting yesterday’s prompt and today’s prompt in one post.  I’m getting a little sad that this journey through The Thankful Project is almost done.  What will I do without my daily moments of reflection, gratitude and inspiration?  Good thing I have the Elf4Health Challenge to keep me preoccupied.

Day 24: A Physical Trait You Have

Since many of you don’t know me in person you would have no way of knowing this unless you deduced it from some of the pictures I’ve included in my blog or read it in my survey answers, but I am short.  No it doesn’t bother me and, no I don’t think it’s a big deal. But it IS a physical trait that I have.

I am about 5’1″ now, apparently.  When I went to the doctor for my check up a few weeks ago they measured me, told me I was 5’1″ and I asked if they could remeasure.  I’ve always been 5’0″ and this whole 1″ of added Tracy was something I needed verification on. The nurse remeasured and she repeated herself, “You’re 61 inches tall.”  Ok, then.  I had to double check my hair wasn’t extra big or if I had left my shoes on.

My height used to bother me only slightly throughout high school and college.  It wasn’t really anything that bothered me except for in times when it was inconvenient to be short: seeing through crowds, someone trying to find me in a crowd, etc.  That can become a little annoying.  My fellow short gals and guys know what I’m talking about on this one.

Growing up in elementary school and very early middle school years, I was actually one of the taller girls in my class.  Kind of seems pathetic now, but it was true.  We would sometimes stand from tallest to shortest when we would line up and I was always within the first 3-5 girls in the line.  Now I would be one of the last 3-5 girls in line.  Puberty is an odd thing.

I have come to accept my height and actually quite like being short, in most scenarios.  I’m really good at sneaking through people at crowded events and during holiday shopping chaos.  Quite the nice perk sometimes.  So, there’s that…I’m short!

Day 25: Something You Know

1 month until Christmas today!

Something I am one hundred percent sure of is the fact that God loves each and every living being.  Sometimes it is just so refreshing to reflect on that notion and to be humbled, in awe, and thankful for that knowledge: God loves and cares for you.

John 3:16 “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.

That’s really the ultimate gift and the thing I am most thankful for in this life – Christ’s love for the world.

I am so blessed to know God’s eternal and unfailing love and to be able to share this with others.

The bible verse that saved my life and my faith is Matthew 8:26, “You of little faith, why are you so afraid?”  It has always just reminded me to put my trust and my faith in God, even in the hardest of moments.

Question:  What is something that you know and want to share with others?

Leave a Reply

