The Thankful Project: Day 21

Day 21: Something That’s Easy to Take for Granted

Man, this is a tough one for me.  There are so many things that I have been blessed with that I take for granted.  It’s really quite eye-opening to think about the things I have that others don’t.  Quite sobering isn’t it?

I would like to discuss how I, and many others, take for granted our health.  And I mean more than just physical health; I mean physical, emotional, mental and spiritual health.  I take for granted the fact that I am healthy. Many are not as blessed as I am in this area.  Some have terminal illnesses like cancer.  Others are battling severe mental health issues which plague their daily lives.  What can we say in these moments?  What can we say to those suffering?  I see you.  I hear you.  I empathize with you.  I am here for you.

Physical health is something I, like many other people, take for granted especially within the fitness industry.  I am surrounded by people on a regular basis who love to work out, but seldom do I think about those who have difficulties with this: people in wheelchairs and those with other physical disabilities which cause them to have more trouble performing the exercises I enjoy.  It just makes you think.  Be grateful that you can get up and run a mile without wondering how much pain you will be in later.  It is so easy to take these things for granted.

This week, when you are doing tasks that may seem mundane to you: cleaning, laundry, reaching something on the top shelf, driving in traffic, running, working out, talking to new people, etc. think about how those tasks that seem so mundane and normal to us may be difficult or impossible for others to accomplish.

Leave a Reply

