The Thankful Project: Day 11

Thank you for joining me on this journey to share my responses to inspirational gratitude posts on the days leading up to Thanksgiving. This is such a lovely season of thanks and I have a lot to be thankful for.

Day 11: Something You Were Taught

Growing up I heard time and time again from family members “Patience is a virtue.”  I was the temper tantrum queen and this so-called “patience” thing did not come easy to me.  I couldn’t comprehend waiting for something longer than 3 seconds.  Even now, I still struggle with a lack of patience and would certainly prefer things be completed the instant I want them to be, but now I kind of get it.

Practicing patience builds character.  It builds trust; it builds hope; it builds understanding. Good things come to those who wait, right?  And isn’t that exactly what patience is?  Waiting.

Patience in prayer was something I had a hard time grasping, as well.  It used to be difficult for me to focus on the idea of timing when I prayed.  Just because I thought I wanted/needed something didn’t mean that it was the right time for God to have me pursue it.  Faith and patience really go hand-in-hand.  I had to have faith that practicing patience would lead to good things.

Exhibiting patience also makes us pay attention.  It helps us see what’s really important to us and to others we encounter.  Patience takes discipline.

Showing patience with others eventually showed me how to work on having patience with myself.  As I mentioned before, I’m not that kind to myself at times and having patience with myself and practicing self-care and understanding allows me to evaluate what’s really important when I begin to feel frustrated with myself.

I try to practice patience with my racing thoughts or worries, too, because it keeps my irrational worries from spiraling into a full-fledged worry.  Sometimes we just have to take a breath and think of what’s really important.  Patience teaches us to create space in ourselves to survey what is really going on.

“But you, Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.” – Psalm 86:15

 

Question: When have you practiced patience and what did it teach you?

Leave a Reply

