The Thankful Project – Day 7: A Job

Going to catch up on this challenge today!  So you’re going to probably get 4 posts today since I promised to share a recipe.  Luck you! We’ll call it a Friday celebration.  Happy Friday, Friends.

Day 7: A Job

Confession: I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.  I have an idea that I want to be a wife, mother, foster mom for pups and part-time freelance designer/marketer/social media guru, but who knows.  I see people all the time that know exactly what career path they belong to do, like my boyfriend, M, who KNOWS he was born to be a doctor.  He KNOWS that’s what he’s been called to do. And that conviction is great, but can make the rest of us feel a little lost sometimes.

Seeing others so passionate about their careers or what they do, even if it’s something I view as ordinary or not my thing is really inspiring to me.  Passion is contagious.

I took about a million career assessment and placement tests in high school and even through college.  All tests came back with that I should do something creative, yet still orderly and organized.  Which wasn’t the most helpful advice I’ve ever gotten, but I know what I’m good at – marketing, creating, thinking outside the box, designing, organizing, planning, etc.

My main question is, how can I utilize these skills outside of the job I love to make an impact in my church, my family, my mentoring, my personal life, fostering animals, etc.  The aspect of volunteering and utilizing my skills is “a job” that I haven’t quite figured out yet.  I can give my time, my energy, my love of volunteering and giving back, my funds but I haven’t been able to give my unique talents and skills.

All in due time, I suppose.  I guess this post kind of goes back to my last one about Failure and being kind to myself.  See, still working on it.

Tell me about the worst job you’ve ever had.

One thought on “The Thankful Project – Day 7: A Job

  1. Pingback: The Thankful Project: Day 7 | Everything's Rosie

Leave a Reply

