The Thankful Project Day 3

If you’re just tuning in to my 28 day commitment (albeit, a little tardily) to The Thankful Project check out my first two posts here and here.  I’m excited to share with you the post I should have done on November 3…whoops.

Day 3: A Place

Every summer since I was a baby up until my sophomore year in college, my family and I spent the warm, summer months living at our lake house.  This place – remote, cramped, old school and full of cottage charm – was my home away from home for three months out of the year.

The Lake House

I didn’t appreciate or really realized how much I loved it until my senior year in high school.  It was always just something expected.  Once school ended, it was time to pack up the vehicles and get on the road to the lake.  Granted, the lake house was only 25 minutes from my dad and step-mom’s house in the town I grew up in, but while in high school it seemed like a lifetime away from my friends.  Particularly when I couldn’t drive yet.

The Lake House 2

Now I realize that those summer months were the best months for our family.  We spent all day, every day together outside soaking up the sun, tubing, waterskiing and wakeboarding, jet skiing, going for pontoon boat rides, etc.  We had so much daylight to burn and so many memories to make.

I truly believe the best memories have been made at that lake house. Anywhere by the water is my happy place.

 

Question: Where is your happy place?

Leave a Reply

