The Thankful Project: Day 2 – A Role You’ve Played

If you’re just joining me on my journey through The Thankful Project, see my first post about A Person.  You’ll also have to note that I started this challenge 5 days late…whoops. So, I am playing catch-up for a few days until I’m back on track!

Day 2: A Role You’ve Played

Mentor. “An experienced and trusted advisor.”  

Not having a little sister of my own, I have always been interested in what that would be like.  I used to curse my parents and stepparents for not having more kids after they remarried.  When I was younger ALL I WANTED was a younger sibling, preferably a little sister.  While my older sister and brother, R and A, told me repeatedly that it wasn’t all fun and games, I didn’t care.  I wanted one of my own that looked up to me, annoyed me, stole my clothes, copied me, etc.

Even into highschool and college I still wanted a younger sibling.  Someone to look up to me. Someone I could blame a broken lamp or a spilled glass of juice on.  Little did I know a few “siblings” just like these would come along who would be a decade younger than me and touch my life in ways I can’t even explain.

I have only known these girls for a little over a month and I’m already the protective older sister for a pack of crazy 8th grade girls we like to call the Pizza Angels.

Blindfolded Make Up

Here I am at a bonding night we recently had where I’m letting them do my make-up blindfolded.

These 8 girls make up my small group through my church’s youth group program.  They say the most random, unexplainable things sometimes and then the next minute they will surprise you by saying one of the most profound statements you’ll ever hear about Jesus. These girls, combined and individually, make up the perfect little sister and allow me to play a role of Mentor and Big Sister.

I can’t wait to see where our relationship takes us next.

Question: What is a role that you play or have played?

2 thoughts on “The Thankful Project: Day 2 – A Role You’ve Played

  1. Pingback: The Thankful Project Day 3 | The Fit Eat

Leave a Reply

