My {Healthy} Obsession with Overnight Oats

Hi Friends!  So glad it’s Hump Day already – can’t wait for the weekend.  I’m going to share one of my favorite weekday breakfasts with you all today!

I am a huge fan of easy, quick breakfasts (or M1’s if you’re a TIU gal) that “stick to your ribs” as my step-mom used to say.

What I mean here is that the breakfasts are healthy, quick to make and have you feeling fuller for a longer period of time.  What’s not to love about that.  Oh, and did I mention that this particular recipe is delicious?!  So delicious and versatile. 

By now you should know that versatility is one of my requirements when it comes to recipes.  I love being able to change something I love up just by adding a little bit of this or that.

 Ignore my Christmas mug that I use for my oats; I just love that mug!

Image

Overnight Oats

Ingredients:

1/4 cup oats (I use old fashioned)

1/4 cup nonfat, plain greek yogurt

1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla or plain almond milk (can sub any milk of your choice, this is just what I use)

*Optional – Pinch of Stevia (or a few drops, if you have that on-hand)

*Optional – Dash of cinnamon (or pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg, etc)

*I have found that it doesn’t matter what type of yogurt or milk you use as long as you stick to the same ratios.*

Directions:

Place oats, Greek yogurt, milk and stevia (optional) in a mug, mixing well.  After milk and yogurt is incorporated well into the dry oats, top with cinnamon or spice of your choice (optional).  Cover overnight in fridge – hence the “overnight” portion of the overnight oats.

Enjoy the next day and top with your favorite add-ins.  Some of my favorite choices are below.

This recipe is delicious and functional because you can add in toppings of your choice – fruit (blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, bananas, apples), nuts (almond slivers, walnuts, pecans), carob chips, dried fruit (cranberries, golden raisins) or whatever variation you come up with.

Give it a try and let me know your favorite creative combination.

 

Question: What is your favorite quick & healthy breakfast?

3 thoughts on “My {Healthy} Obsession with Overnight Oats

  1. Pingback: Crock Pot Steel Cut Oats Recipe | The Fit Eat

Leave a Reply

