New Fall Recipes to Try Part 2 – Pumpkin Banana Protein Oat Bars

Earlier this week I posted Part 1 of this series by sharing a recipe I tried for Pumpkin Carrot Soup featured on the Tone It Up blog.  Let me start by saying that I am still reheating the double batch I made and still LOVE the texture, flavor and savory pumpkin Fall taste that the soup packs.  Such a great Fall weather treat.

I am going to be sharing with you guys the other pumpkin recipe I created on Monday.  I made a triple batch of these bad boys on Monday to surprise my roommate who loves pumpkin just as much as I do.  This weekend I am also expecting guests, so I figured they would like a quick breakfast treat prior to our early event on Saturday.

This recipe is delicious, healthy and has that early Fall flavor profile that I have been craving.  I originally considered making the Vegan Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies from Eating Bird Food, but I could not resist how easy and delicious the  seemed.  Now that I’ve made them, I am so glad I did.  They firmed up really well and have the exact flavor I was craving.  Plus, they contain TIU approved ingredients and fit well for my M1, M2, or M4 options.  If you’re not familiar with the Tone It Up Nutrition Plan, check it out!

Image

Here is the recipe that I followed.  Keep in mind I TRIPLED the original recipe.

Ingredients:

3 cup oats

3 cup canned pumpkin

3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

3 overripe bananas

3/4 cup almond butter (any nut or seed butter will do)

5-6 scoops Perfect Fit Protein

6 teaspoons cinnamon

6 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice or apple pie spice (I used pumpkin pie spice)

6 teaspoons vanilla

5-6 Tablespoon brown sugar

6 Tablespoon pumpkin seeds (optional)

Instructions:

In a food processor or blender, combine the pumpkin, applesauce, banana and nut butter until smooth. Add protein powder, cinnamon, pumpkin pie or apple pie spice, vanilla, and brown sugar.

Place the oats in a large bowl and add the creamed mixture.  Stir, folding in the pumpkin seeds (optional). Bake at 350° for 30-40 minutes.  Mine took roughly 32 minutes to be baked.

Next time I’m considering adding walnuts or pecans and cacao nibs to the ingredient list, as well.  What else would be a good add in?

My roommate and I each had one of these while still hot because we couldn’t wait to see the result!  I was so pleased that this seasonal recipe turned out to be just what I was craving; a bonus is that it’s a great nutritional way to treat yourself, but in a healthy, satisfying way that won’t throw off your calorie counts, exercise and fitness goals and/or your nutrition plan.

Try out this easy, delicious and Fall flavored recipe and tell me how yours turns out!

2 thoughts on “New Fall Recipes to Try Part 2 – Pumpkin Banana Protein Oat Bars

  1. Pingback: New Favorite Veggie Recipe: Roasted Lemon Pepper Garlic Brussel Sprouts | The Fit Eat

  2. Pingback: Tasty Halloween Treat: Homemade Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Granola Bars | The Fit Eat

Leave a Reply

