New Fall Recipes to Try Part 1 – Pumpkin Carrot Soup

I am so excited to share this post with you because I think you’ll really love these fall recipes.  It was my first time making both of these and I am extremely pleased with the way both recipes turned out.

Yesterday I decided to embrace Fall and recreated two Tone It Up approved recipes I stumbled upon online.  I will be giving you a run-through of the soup I made last night in this post and sharing my other recipe experiment with you in my next post.

The first recipe I recreated was the Pumpkin Carrot Soup Tone It Up (TIU) posted September 19, 2013.  All of the soups from that post sounded incredible, but I was really in the mood for pumpkin last night, so I chose this one.  Here is what it turned out looking like:

Pumpkin Carrot Soup

Just what I was craving!

I chose to make this in my crock pot because it seemed easier than using a big pot on the stove.  Crock pot recipes are my Fall and Winter seasonal go-to’s because they are simple, easy-to-execute and are always crowd pleasers (especially for Football Sundays!) Preparation was straightforward and a breeze, which I always appreciate!  

The only slight differentiations from the TIU recipe to what I made was that I used red onion and instead of topping with parsley, yogurt or pumpkin seeds, I put my leftover chopped chives and pepper on top.

I let the ingredients simmer in my crock pot on high while I completed a 4 mile run and Bikini Arms from the TIU Beach Babe 2 DVD for roughly an hour, then turned on low while I showered post-workout for about 30 minutes and blended it shortly after that.  I have a Ninja blender, so that’s what I used to mix the soup, but an immersion blender would be a lot easier, if you have one.  I used preset 2 for the first 1 minute 30 seconds and then used preset 1 for a remaining 1 minute 30 seconds to 2 minutes.  I like my soups a little chunkier than creamy, so I didn’t blend it as much as the TIU recipe pictured, but it’s all based on personal preference.

Then I dug right in for dinner! I was extremely satisfied by the soup and loved how hearty it tasted without being too sweet.  This savory pumpkin soup is my new go-to crock pot creation.

Here’s a snapshot of my morning snack (M2) and my dinner (M5) as well as my PMWO (evening workout) from yesterday!

M2 (left): Apple with 1.5 tbsp nut butter and handful of almonds  M5 (right): TIU Pumpkin Carrot Soup PMWO (bottom): 4 mile interval run for a total of 554 calories and Bikini Arms, planks

M2 (left): Apple with 1.5 tbsp nut butter and handful of almonds
M5 (right): TIU Pumpkin Carrot Soup
PMWO (bottom): 4 mile interval run for a total of 554 calories and Bikini Arms, planks

Give this great Fall seasonal recipe a try and let me know how your version turns out!

Stay tuned for more great recipe posts soon.

3 thoughts on “New Fall Recipes to Try Part 1 – Pumpkin Carrot Soup

  1. Pingback: New Fall Recipes to Try Part 2 – Pumpkin Banana Protein Oat Bars | The Fit Eat

  2. Pingback: New Favorite Veggie Recipe: Roasted Lemon Pepper Garlic Brussel Sprouts | The Fit Eat

  3. Pingback: Tasty Halloween Treat: Homemade Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Granola Bars | The Fit Eat

Leave a Reply

